LastMinuteLucie and the search for time

the finished piece

the finished piece

This jumper dress from New Look came out of a bag of clothes my niece was throwing out. I have worn it, but it is a little too snug and being of average height, it is one of those pieces of clothing that doesn’t really do anything for me. It also has a diamante anchor motif right on the breast – not good.
However I thought the knitted fabric was nice and that it would make a lovely little cardigan, so I challenged myself to ‘make it so’!

First I cut off the bottom of the dress, just under the anchor. Next, I laid the top half on it and judged where to cut the arm holes. With those cut, I cut the sleeves off the original top, along with the neck edge and then used the neck edge to draw a new neckline on the bottom piece. I folded the new garment in half to find the centre front and cut the front open to make it into a cardigan.
Now I just had to put it back together: shoulder seams, sleeves back in and then a blue spotted ribbon from my stash to bind the front and the neck.

I am very happy with the resulting edge to edge cardi – it was deserving of a Buntyboo brag label and I am looking forward to wearing it tomorrow – with a navy blue t-shirt, not this grey one!!

Comments on: "stripes – the first week of the refashion runway challenge" (3)

  1. Very nice refashion! Cardigans are always useful.

Leave a comment

Would You Rather Math

ASKING STUDENTS TO CHOOSE A PATH AND JUSTIFY IT WITH MATH

teachingthroughmovement

Instruction, Collaboration, Leadership

Welcome to infinitefreetime dot com

The blog of Luther M. Siler, teacher, author and local curmudgeon

Nikki Young

Writer, Author & Editor

American History in a Box

Education and Relocation Resources for American Expatriate Families

Livin' that 8th ELA life

Thoughts and feelings of an experienced educator, mom, and wife

Prizes & Pitfalls of a Primary PGCE

The musings and tips of a PGCE Student

taking the path I took yesterday

the diary of a primary school teacher

Amber's Blog

Just Be Yourself

Diary of a MadMama

Refashioning a Method to the Madness of Life

Crafty Mom Nik

Neat stuff I find and make... Just for fun.

Sandpaper Kisses

a Cat Lady Obsessed with Frugal Fashion

Studio Mothers: Life & Art

Meet your creative goals

some dreams and sunbeams

my passions, my inspirations, my weaknesses

chinelo bally

Dressmaker| Author| Blogger| Freehand cutter

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The Renegade Seamstress

Refashions Beyond My Wildest Seams

Pepperbox Couture

Reduce, reuse, recycle - the sustainable design style

ilovecakeandcakelovesme

me and cake together for ever